Print View

[Section Index]

The Cotton Transport Act, 1923

( ACT NO. III OF 1923 )

Procedure where cotton arrives at notified station
5.(1) Where any cotton, the import of which by rail into any protected area has been prohibited, has been consigned to and arrives at a notified station in any such protected area, the station master or other railway servant responsible for the receipt and delivery to the consignee of goods or parcels, as the case may be, at that station shall, unless both the notified station and the railway station from which the cotton has been consigned are situated in the same protected area, refuse to deliver the cotton until he is satisfied that the consignee holds a licence for the import of the cotton by rail into the protected area in which such notified station is situated; and, if he is not so satisfied, or if within fourteen days the consignee or some person acting on his behalf does not appear in order to take delivery, shall return the cotton to the railway station from which it was consigned, together with an intimation that delivery of the cotton has been refused or has not been taken, as the case may be.
(2) Any station master or other railway servant receiving any cotton returned under sub-section (1) 1[* * *] shall cause to be served on the consignor in any manner authorised by section 141 of the Railways Act, 1890, a notice stating that the cotton has been so returned and requiring the consignor to pay any rate, terminal or other charges due in respect of the carriage of the cotton to and from the railway station to which it was consigned, and such charges shall be deemed to be due from the consignor for all the purposes of section 55 of that Act.

  • 1
    The commas, words, brackets and figures ", or returned with a like intimation from a railway station specified in a notification under sub-section (3) of section 4," were omitted by section 3 and 2nd Schedule of the Bangladesh Laws (Revision And Declaration) Act, 1973 (Act No. VIII of 1973)
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs