Print View

[Section Index]

1The Cantonments Act, 1924

( ACT NO. II OF 1924 )

Chapter III



Power to vary constitution of Boards in special circum-stances
14.(1) Notwithstanding anything contained in section 13A, if the Government is satisfied-
(a) that, by reason of military operations it is necessary, or
(b) that, for the administration of the cantonment, it is desirable,
to vary the constitution of the Board in any cantonment under this section, the Government may, by notification in the official Gazette, make a declaration to that effect.
(2) Upon the making of a declaration under sub-section (1), the Board in the cantonment shall consist of the following members, namely:-
(a) the Officer Commanding the station;
(b) one military officer nominated by name by the Officer Commanding the station by order in writing;
(c) one member, not being a person in the service of the 2[Republic], nominated by the Officer Commanding the station:
3[* * *]
(3) Every nomination of a member of a Board constituted under this section, and every vacancy in the membership thereof, shall be notified by the Government in the official Gazette.
(4) The term of office of a Board constituted by a declaration under sub-section (1) shall not ordinarily extend beyond one year:
Provided that the Government may from time to time, by a like declaration, extend the term of office of such a Board by any period not exceeding one year at a time:
Provided also that the Government shall forthwith direct that the term of office of such a Board shall cease if, in the opinion of the Government, the reasons stated in the declaration whereby such Board was constituted, or its term of office was extended, have ceased to exist.
(5) When the term of office of a Board constituted under this section has expired or ceased, the Board shall be replaced by the former Board which, but for the declaration under sub-section (1), would have continued to hold office, or, if the term of office of such former Board has expired, by a Board constituted under section 13A.

Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs