Print View

[Section Index]

1The Cantonments Act, 1924

( ACT NO. II OF 1924 )

Chapter XV


Committees of Arbitration

Constitution of Committee of Arbitration
262.(1) Every Committee of Arbitration shall consist of five members, namely:-
(a) a Chairman who shall be a person not in the service of the 2[Republic] or the Board, and who shall be nominated by the Officer Commanding the station;
(b) two persons nominated by the Board; and
(c) two persons nominated by the other party concerned.
(2) If the Board or the other party concerned or the Officer Commanding the station fails within seven days of the date of issue of the notice referred to in section 261 to make any nomination which it or he is entitled to make or, if any member who has been so nominated neglects or refuses to act and the Board or other person by whom such member was nominated fails to nominate another member in his place within seven days from the date on which it or he may be called upon to do so by the District Magistrate, the District Magistrate shall forthwith appoint a member or members, as the case may be, to fill the vacancy or vacancies.

  • 1
    Throughout this Act, except otherwise provided, the words "Bangladesh", Government", "Penal Code" and "Taka" were substituted, for the words "Pakistan", "Central Government", "Pakistan Penal Code" and "rupee" or "rupees" respectively by the Bangladesh Laws (Revision And Declaration) Act, 1973 (Act No. VIII of 1973), section 3 and 2nd Schedule
  • 2
    The word "Republic" was substituted, for the word "State" by section 3 and 2nd Schedule of the Bangladesh Laws (Revision And Declaration) Act, 1973 (Act No. VIII of 1973)
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs