Print View

[Section Index]

The Money-Lenders Act, 1940 (Bengal Act)

( ACT NO. X OF 1940 )

Chapter II


Competent Courts under this Act
4. Notwithstanding anything contained in any other law, the Courts (hereinafter referred to as Competent Courts) which have jurisdiction to entertain proceedings under sections 16 and 19 and to pass orders therein are the Courts hereinafter specified, within the local limits of whose jurisdiction the money-lender actually and voluntarily resides or carries on the business of money-lending-
1[* * *]
(b) the Court of the District Judge (hereinafter called a “District Court”) and any Court to which he may transfer the proceedings.

  • 1
    Clause (a) was omitted by the First Schedule of the East Pakistan Repealing and Amending Ordinance, 1960 (East Pakistan Ordinance No. XXVIII of 1960)
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs