Print View

[Section Index]

The Constitution of the People‌‌‍’s Republic of Bangladesh

1Chapter I


Term of office of President
50. (1) Subject to the provisions of this Constitution, the President shall hold office for a term of five years form the date on which he enters upon his office:
Provided that notwithstanding the expiration of his term the President shall continue to hold office until his successor enters upon office.
(2) No person shall hold office as President for more than two terms, whether or not the terms are consecutive.
(3) The President may resign his office by writing under his hand addressed to the Speaker.
(4) The President during his term of office shall not be qualified for election as a member of Parliament, and if a member of Parliament is elected as President he shall vacate his seat in Parliament on the day on which he enters upon his office as President.

  • 1
    Chapters I, II and III were substituted for Chapters I and II by section 3 of the Constitution (Twelfth Amendment) Act, 1991 (Act No. XXVIII of 1991).
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs