Print View

[Section Index]

The Bangladesh Shipping Corporation Order, 1972 (President's Order)


21. (1) The accounts of the Corporation shall be audited by not less than two Auditors who shall be chartered accountants and appointed for the purpose by the Corporation.
(2) Every auditor appointed under clause (1) shall be given a copy of the annual balance sheet of the Corporation and shall examine it together with the accounts and vouchers relating thereto, and shall have a list delivered to him of all books kept by the Corporation and shall, at all reasonable times, have access to the books of accounts and other documents of the Corporation, and may in relation to such accounts examine any 1[Director, Executive Director] or officer of the Corporation.
(3) The auditors shall report to the shareholders upon the annual balance sheet and accounts and in the report they shall state whether in their opinion the balance sheet is a full and fair balance sheet containing all necessary particulars and properly drawn up so as to exhibit a true and correct view of the state of the Corporation's affairs, and in case they have called for any explanation or information from the Board, whether it has been given and whether it is satisfactory.
(4) The Board, may at any time, issue directions to the auditors requiring them to report it upon the adequacy of measures taken by the Corporation for the protection of the interest of its shareholders and creditors or upon the sufficiency of the information and other means placed at the disposal of the auditors in auditing the accounts of the Corporation.
(5) A statement of the accounts audited by the auditors and a report of the Board thereon shall be furnished to the Government by the Corporation as soon as possible after the end of every financial year.

  • 1
    The words and comma “Directors, Executive Directors” were substituted for the word “Director” by section 8 of the Bangladesh Shipping Corporation (Amendment) Ordinance, 1983 (Ordinance No. XXIII of 1983)
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs