Print View

[Section Index]

The Rajshahi University Act, 1973

( ACT NO. XXVI OF 1973 )

The Senate
20. (1) The Senate shall consist of the following persons:-
(a) the Vice-Chancellor;
1[(b) the Pro-Vice-Chancellor or, if there is more than one, all the Pro-Vice-Chancellors;]
(c) the Treasurer;
(d) five Government officials to be nominated by the Government;
(e) five Members of Parliament to be nominated by the Speaker;
(f) five distinguished educationists to be nominated by the Chancellor;
(g) five representatives of research bodies to be nominated by the Syndicate;
(h) five Principals of colleges to be nominated by the Academic Council;
(i) ten teachers of colleges to be nominated by the Academic Council;
(j) the Chairman of the Boards of Intermediate and Secondary Education within the territorial limits of the University;
(k) twenty-five representatives of the Registered Graduates to be elected by such graduates from amongst themselves;
(l) thirty-three representatives of the teachers of the University to be elected in a special meeting by such teachers; and
(m) five representatives of the students to be elected by students of the University.
(2) The members of the Senate, other than the ex-officio members and the student members, shall hold office for a period of three years and the student members shall hold office for a period of one year. The members shall continue in office till their successors having been elected, nominated or appointed, enter upon the office:
Provided that the Members of Parliament, the Government officials, the Principals of Colleges, the College teachers, Registered Graduates, teachers of the University and representatives of research bodies shall hold office so long as they continue to be a Member of Parliament, Government official, Principal of College, College teacher, Registered Graduate, teacher of the University or associated with any research body:
Provided further that the student members shall lose membership if they cease to be students of the University.
(3) The election of members of the Senate shall be held in such manner as may be prescribed by the Statutes.

  • 1
    Clause (b) was substituted by section 3 of the Rajshahi University (Amendment) Act, 1999 (Act No. IX of 1999)
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs