Print View

[Section Index]

The Delimitation of Constituencies Ordinance, 1976

( Ordinance NO. XV OF 1976 )

Delimitation of Constituencies, etc.
6. (1) The Commission shall, for the purpose of elections to the seats in Parliament, divide the country into as many single territorial constituencies as the number of members to be elected under clause (2) of Article 65 of the Constitution.
(2) The Constituencies shall be so delimited, having regard to administrative convenience, that each constituency is a compact area and in doing so due regard shall be had, as far as practicable, to the distribution of population as given in the latest census report.
(3) The Commission shall, after making such enquiries and examining such records as it may deem necessary, publish in the official Gazette a preliminary list of territorial constituencies specifying the areas proposed to be included in each such constituency together with a notice inviting objections and suggestions within such period as may be specified in the notice.
(4) The Commission shall, after hearing and considering the objections and suggestions, if any, received by it, make such amendments, alterations or modifications in the preliminary list published under sub-section (3) as it thinks fit and shall, also after correcting any errors arising from any accidental slip or omission, publish in the official Gazette the final list of territorial constituencies showing the areas included in each such constituency.

Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs