Print View

[Section Index]

The Paurashava Ordinance, 1977 (Ordinance)

( Ordinance NO. XXVI OF 1977 )

Chapter I


Panel of Chairman
1[17. (1) Within one month of the first meeting held after the constitution of a Paurashava, a panel of three Chairmen shall be elected, in order of preference, by the commissioners from amongst themselves.
(2) While the office of Chairman is vacant or the Chairman is on leave or under suspension, the functions of his office shall be performed by the Commissioner whose name is highest in the panel of Chairman in order of preference.]

  • 1
    Section 17 was substituted by section 10 of the Paurashava (Third Amendment) Act, 1992 (Act No. LII of 1992)
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs