Print View

[Section Index]

The Chittagong City Corporation Ordinance, 1982

( Ordinance NO. XXXV OF 1982 )

Chapter I


1[4. (1) The Corporation shall consist of-
(a) a Mayor;
(b) such number of Commissioners as may be fixed by the Government; and
(c) such number of Commissioners as are reserved exclusively for women under sub section (3).
(2) The Mayor and the Commissioners shall be elected by direct election on the basis of adult franchise in accordance with the provisions of this Ordinance and the rules.
(3) There shall be reserved, exclusively for women, such number of seats, hereinafter referred to as reserved seats, as is equivalent to one third of the number of Commissioners fixed by the Government under clause (b) of sub section (1).
Explanation.- In calculating the number of reserved seats under this sub section, if the number comprises a fraction of less than point five zero such fraction shall be ignored, and if the number comprises a fraction of point five zero or above such fraction shall be rounded off as a whole number.

  • 1
    Section 4 was substituted by section 2 of the Chittagong City Corporation (Amendment) Act, 1999 (Act No. II of 1999)
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs