Print View

[Section Index]

The Chittagong City Corporation Ordinance, 1982

( Ordinance NO. XXXV OF 1982 )

Chapter II


Conduct of elections
24. All 2[elections of Mayor and Commissioners 3[* * *]] shall be organised, held and conducted by the Election Commission in accordance with the rules, and such rules may provide for all or any of the following matters, namely:-
(a) the appointment of returning officers, assistant returning officers, presiding officers and polling officers for the conduct of elections and powers and duties of such officers;
(b) the nomination of candidates, objections to nominations and scrutiny of nominations;
(c) the deposits to be made by candidates and the circumstances under which such deposits may be refunded to candidates or forfeited to the Corporation;
(d) the withdrawal of candidatures;
(e) the appointment of agents of candidates;
(f) the procedure in contested and uncontested elections;
(g) the date, time and place for poll and other matters relating to the conduct of elections;
(h) the manner in which votes are to be given;
(i) the scrutiny and counting of votes, the declaration of the results and procedure to be followed in case of equality of votes;
(j) the custody and disposal of ballot papers and other papers relating to elections;
(k) the circumstances under which polls may be suspended and fresh polls may be held;
(l) the election expenses;
(m) the corrupt or illegal practices and other election offences and penalties therefore;
(n) the election dispute and the submission, trial and disposal of election petitions; and
(o) any other matter connected with or incidental to elections.

  • 1
    The words and comma “ELECTIONS OF MAYOR AND COMMISSIONER, OTHER THAN IN RESERVED SEATS” were substituted for the words “ELECTIONS OF COMMISSIONERS” by section 17 of the Chittagong City Corporation (Amendment) Act, 1993 (Act No. VII of 1993).
  • 2
    The words and commas “elections of Mayor and Commissioners, other than Commissioners in reserved seats,” were substituted for the words and comma “elections of Commissioners” by section 21 of the Chittagong City Corporation (Amendment) Act, 1993 (Act No. VII of 1993).
  • 3
    The commas and words “, other than Commissioners in reserved seats,” were omitted by section 8 of the Chittagong City Corporation (Amendment) Act, 1999 (Act No. II of 1999).
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs