Print View

[Section Index]

The Bangladesh Rural Development Board Ordinance, 1982

( Ordinance NO. LIII OF 1982 )

Constitution and composition of the Board, etc
5. (1) The Board shall consist of the following members, namely:-
(a) The Minister-in-charge of the Ministry of Local Government, who shall also be the Chairman of the Board;
(b) The Secretary of the Rural Development and Cooperative Division or Additional Secretary or Joint Secretary-in-charge of that Division, ex-officio, who shall also be the Vice-Chairman of the Board;
(c) An officer not below the rank of a Joint Secretary from each of the Divisions of Agriculture and Forests, Fisheries and Livestock, Finance, Energy, Irrigation, Water Development and Flood Control and Local Government, ex-officio;
(d) Member, Planning Commission, in-charge of rural development, or an officer not below the rank of a Section Chief, ex-officio;
(e) The Chairman of the Bangladesh Agriculture Development Corporation, ex-officio;
(f) The Directors of the Bangladesh Rural Development Academies, Comilla and Bogra, alternatively for one year by rotation, ex-officio;
(g) The Registrar of Cooperative Societies, ex-officio;
(h) The Chairman, Bangladesh Small and Cottage Industries Corporation, ex-officio;
(i) Five members to be elected by the National Federation of the TCCAs;
(j) One member to be nominated by the Government from such major financial institutions as may be determined by the Government financing the TCCAs;
(k) One member to be nominated by the Bangladesh Jatiya Samabaya Union;
(l) The Director-General of the Board, ex-officio, who shall also be the Member-Secretary of the Board.
(2) The elected and nominated members shall hold office for a period of one year.
(3) No act done by the Board shall be invalid on the ground merely of the existence of any vacancy in, or any defect in the constitution or composition of, the Board.

Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs