Print View

[Section Index]

The Local Government (Union Parishads) Ordinance, 1983

( Ordinance NO. LI OF 1983 )

Conduct of election
24. All elections of Chairman and 1[members 2[* * *]] of a Union Parishad shall be organised, held and conducted by the Election Commission in accordance with the r ules, and such
rules may provide for all or any of the following matters, namely:-
(a) the appointment of returning officers, assistant returning officers, presiding officers and polling officers for the conduct of election, and powers and duties of such officers;
(b) the nomination of candidates, objections to nominations and scrutiny of nominations;
(c) the deposits to be made by candidates and the circumstances under which such deposits may be refunded to candidates or forfeited to the Union Parishad;
(d) the withdrawal of candidature;
(e) the appointment of agents of candidates;
(f) the procedure in contested and uncontested elections;
(g) the date, time and place for poll and other matters relating to the conduct of elections;
(h) the manner in which votes are to be given;
(i) the scrutiny and counting of votes, the declaration of the result and the procedure to be followed in case of equality of votes;
(j) the custody and disposal of ballot papers and other papers relating to elections;
(k) the circumstances under which polls may be suspended and fresh polls may be held;
(l) the election expenses;
(m) the corrupt or illegal practices and other election offences and penalties thereof; and
(n) any other matter connected with or incidental to elections.

  • 1
    The words and commas “members, other than members of reserved seats,” were substituted for the words “elected members” by section 16 of the Local Government (Union Parishads) (Amendment) Act, 1993 (Act No. XX of 1993)
  • 2
    The commas and the words “, other than in reserved seats,” were omitted by section 9 of the Local Government (Union Parishads) (Second Amendment) Act, 1997 (Act No. XX of 1997)
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs