Print View

[Section Index]

The Code of Criminal Procedure, 1898

( ACT NO. V OF 1898 )

Chapter II


A.-Classes of Criminal Courts

Classes of Criminal Courts
1[6.(1) Besides the Supreme Court and the Courts constituted under any law for the time being in force, other than this Code, there shall be two classes of Criminal Courts in Bangladesh, namely:-
(a) Courts of Sessions ; and
(b) Courts of Magistrates.
(2) There shall be two classes of Magistrate, namely: -
(a) Judicial Magistrate; and
(b) Executive Magistrate.
(3) There shall be four classes of judicial Magistrate, namely: -
(a) Chief Metropolitan Magistrate in Metropolitan Area and Chief judicial Magistrate to other areas;
(b) Magistrate of the first class, who shall in Metropolitan area, be known as Metropolitan Magistrate;
(c) Magistrate of the second class; and
(d) Magistrate of the third class.
Explanation: For the purpose of this sub-section, the word "Chief Metropolitan Magistrate" and "Chief judicial Magistrate" shall include "Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate" and "Additional Chief judicial Magistrate" respectively.]

  • 1
    Section 6 was substituted by section 5 of the Code of Criminal Procedure (Amendment) Act, 2009 (Act No. XXXII of 2009) (with effect from 1st November, 2007).
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs