Print View

[Section Index]

The Code of Civil Procedure, 1908

( ACT NO. V OF 1908 )

Constitution of Rule Committees.
123.(1) A Committee, to be called the Rule Committee, shall be constituted 1[for the purpose] referred to in section 122.
2[(2) Such Committee shall consist of the following persons, namely:-
(a) three Judges of the Supreme Court, one of whom at least has served as a District Judge for three years;
(b) two advocates parctising in that Court; and
(c) a Judge of a Civil Court subordinate to the High Court Division.]
(3) The members of 3[* * *] such Committee shall be appointed by the Chief Justice, who shall also nominate one of their number to be president:
Provided that, if the Chief Justice elects to be himself a member of 4[the Committee], the number of other Judges appointed to be members shall be two, and the Chief Justice shall be the President of the Committee.
(4) Each member of 5[such committee] shall hold office for such period as may be prescribed by the Chief Justice in this behalf; and whenever any member retires, resigns, dies 6[* * *] or becomes incapable of acting as a member of the Committee, the said Chief Justice may appoint another person to be a member in his stead.
(5) There shall be a Secretary to 7[* * *] such Committee, who shall be appointed by the Chief Justice and shall receive such remuneration as may be provided in this behalf by the Government.

Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs