Laws of Bangladesh

The Rajshahi University Act, 1973

( ACT NO. XXVI OF 1973 )

The Syndicate
23. (1) The Syndicate shall consist of the following persons:-
(a) the Vice-Chancellor;
1[(b) the Pro-Vice-Chancellor or, if there is more than one, all the Pro-Vice-Chancellors;]
(c) the Treasurer;
(d) six teachers of the University to be elected by such teachers from among themselves;
(e) two Principals of Colleges located within the territorial limits of the University to be nominated by the Academic Council;
(f) two representatives of the Senate, one being a Registered Graduate and the other an educationist, to be nominated by the Senate;
(g) one distinguished citizen to be nominated by the Senate from outside its membership;
(h) two persons to be nominated by the Chancellor; and
(i) one Government official, not below the rank of a Secretary, to be nominated by the Government.
(2) The elections of members of the Syndicate shall be held in such manner as may be prescribed by the Statutes:
Provided that the teachers of the University to be elected under clause (d) of sub-section (1), one shall be elected from each of the following categories, namely:
(i) Deans;
(ii) Provosts;
(iii) Professors;
(iv) Associate Professors;
(v) Assistant Professors; and
(vi) Lecturers.
(3) The members of the Syndicate other than ex-officio members, shall hold office for a term of two years but shall continue in office till their successors having been elected or nominated enter upon the office:
Provided that the teachers of the University, Principals of Colleges, representatives of the Senate and Government nominee shall hold office so long as they continue to be such teachers, Principals, members and official.

  • 1
    Clause (b) was substituted by section 4 of the Rajshahi University (Amendment) Act, 1999 (Act No. IX of 1999).
Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs