Laws of Bangladesh

The Territorial Waters and Maritime Zones Act, 1974

( ACT NO. XXVI OF 1974 )

Contiguous Zone

1[4.  (1) The Contiguous Zone is an area seaward of the Territorial Sea not exceeding 24 NM from the Territorial Sea Baseline:

Provided that the Government may, from time to time, by notification in the official Gazette, alter the limit of the Contiguous Zone.

(2) The Government may prevent or punish the contravention of, and attempt to contravene, any law in force in Bangladesh relating to-

(a) the security of Bangladesh;

(b) immigration and sanitary; and

(c) customs and other fiscal matters.

(3) The Government may make rules to exercise such powers and take such measures in or in respect of the Contiguous Zone as it may consider necessary to restrict the entrance of vessels into the Contiguous Zone and to take actions if any vessel has committed or likely to commit an offence mentioned in sub-section (2).]

Copyright © 2019, Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division
Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs